Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness 

Sensing Connections - Level 1: Peer-to-Peer Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness 

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings allow parents who have lost a child an opportunity to process their grief and learn coping strategies that have helped others. The meetings will be held on Wednesday evenings at 5:30 PT/6:30 MT/7:30 CT/8:30 ET for 90 minutes. We ask interested parents to commit to the entire 6-month series (10 total meetings). Enrollment is free. All participants are sent a participant packet with descriptions of the topics that will be covered at each meeting and suggested resources. 

If you are interested in joining this group, please contact: 

•Molly Black, Family Consultant for the Pennsylvania Deaf-Blind Project – mblack@pattan.net

Or register online. Please note that the registration deadline for these sessions is August 15, 2019.

 Group Meeting Dates 

Topic 

Session 1 – September 11, 2019 

Welcome 

Session 2 – September 25, 2019 

Weaving Through Grief 

Session 3 – October 16, 2019 

Grieving as a Juggling Act 

Session 4 – October 30, 2019 

“I Wish I Would Have…” 

Session 5 – November 13, 2019 

Safety and Grief 

Session 6 – November 20, 2019 

Internal and External Pressures 

Session 7 – December 11, 2019 

Food, Fellowship, and Sharing 

Session 8 – January 15, 2020 

Impact of Loss on Your Health and Well-Being 

Session 9 – February 5, 2020 

Tribute Night 

Session 10 – February 26, 2020 

Pearls of Wisdom 

Additional Resources 

For information about additional sources of support, see Resources for Grieving Families

expand your family network

From November 1 through December 31, 2019, NFADB is offering a 25% discount to celebrate our 25th anniversary!

We hope you take advantage of this offer!

become a member of nfadb



Our Partners


Helen Keller National Center

National Center on Deaf-Blindness

Perkins School for the Blind


support NFADB



Our work is supported by organizations and individuals like you.  Support our work


OUR MISSION

NFADB exists to empower the voices of families with individuals who are deaf-blind and advocate for their unique needs.

PHONE OR FAX

Phone: 800.255.0411
Fax: 516.883.9060

MAILING ADDRESS

PO Box 1667
Sands Point, NY 11050

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software